The Island, UH System, and College

Kaua‘i, with a population of about 72,000, lies 100 miles northwest of Honolulu, the State capitol and major population center of Hawai‘i. The island retains many aspects of rural island life. The northernmost and oldest of the major Hawaiian islands, it is 627 square miles in area with a diameter of 32 miles, yet the climate varies dramatically from desert to rain forest with altitudes ranging from sea level to 5,243 feet. The beauty, the diverse cultures, and the climate are major island resources.

Kaua‘i Community College is one of 10 campuses in the University of Hawai‘i System. There are seven community colleges (one on Kaua‘i, four on O‘ahu, one on the Big Island of Hawai‘i, and one on Maui, which also services Lana‘i and Moloka‘i) and three universities (Mānoa, West O‘ahu, and Hilo).

Kaua‘i Community College, a two-year public community college, is the only college on the island of Kaua‘i.  Its 200-acre campus is located just west of the major town of Līhu‘e. The College began in 1928 as a vocational school and became a comprehensive community college in 1965.

KCC students